Edwardsville ramp

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by dolphinswmmr, Jun 1, 2009.

1. dolphinswmmr

dolphinswmmr New Member

State:
    kansas
    I am new to fishing the Kaw, and use the ramp in Edwardsville at 9th and woodend rd. I am looking for help with good catfish spots and gear to use. I prefer night fishing as don't care much for the heat. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. kcgeoff

kcgeoff New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Can you generalize what you need help with better? No body is going to post there best catfishing spots.

3. arkrivercatman

arkrivercatman New Member

State:
    KS
    I like to fish with a pole in the water, but thats just me.:smile2:
    Seriously, buy the best equipment you can afford and go to the river. Time on the water will pay off.
    Its called payin dues.:wink:

4. dolphinswmmr

dolphinswmmr New Member

State:
    kansas
    :confused2:I"m not looking for anyones best spot. Just general idea of what to look for as far as structure, up or down river from the ramp, water depth. As far as equipment what size sinkers work well with the current. I spent some time Friday night and found some flats and channels, but not sure if that is where I should look for cats at.

5. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    I've been on the water up there just a handful of times, so my advice is limited.

You already probably know how shallow it is, look for the channel, which may only be slightly deeper than the rest of the water, and spread your poles across it. Also try right along the bankline at night.

Try the creek mouths, there is Cedar Creek of course, but don't overlook the smaller ones that come in around there.

You won't go too far downstream, but if you are confident in your boat you could try around those bridge piers. Be absolutely sure you have a good anchor before you go down there, as it is your backup that will keep you from being pulled over the dam if your motor fails.