Eater Flathead Catfish weight cut off?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by MrFlathead, Jul 14, 2009.

What weight do you consider to big to be an eater for Flatheads

1. 5 pounds

2. 10 pounds

3. 15 pound

4. 20 pounds

5. 30 pounds

6. 40 pounds

7. No limit for me... The bigger the better!

Multiple votes are allowed.
Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. MrFlathead

MrFlathead New Member

State:
    Il
    Hopefully i dont mess this poll up because I have never done one before but I was curious as to when you guys consider a flathead to big to be an eater assuming that it is out of clean fresh unpoluted water.

Last edited: Jul 14, 2009
  2. indycatman

indycatman New Member

State:
    Greenwood, Indi
    depends on the other guys but i heard anything over 10# not good to eat but i have also heard different sizes :wink::wink::wink: but i fish for the sport of it

3. SGTREDNECK

SGTREDNECK New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    6 to 8 pounds in my throw back point. I dont really keep too many flatheads to eat tho. I usually only keep channels and blues for eating and throw back all flatheads. But sometimes a few smaller ones with get thrown in the cooler. Good post.

4. CatsNstripers

CatsNstripers New Member

State:
    Smith Mountain
    I rarly keep a flathead or blue over 12lbs to eat. Or a channel cats over 10lbs to eat. I have kept larger fish, but ONLY due to the fact of a bad hooking accident, but thats on rare occasions. Not that i belive in the foul tasting and pollutants that the fish man hold of being an older fish. I belive in selective harvest, the release of larger fish for ensure the future of the fishery. Theres alot less larger fish than there is smaller fish to harvest, so i try to practice and preach to whom i can about keeping the smaller fish, let the larger fish go. To breed, pass on good genes and get larger to maybe catch again..