Eastern PA Flatheads

Discussion in 'PENNSYLVANIA RIVERS TALK' started by Catsfurducks, Oct 7, 2005.

1. Catsfurducks

Catsfurducks New Member

Howdy all. Been lurking on the old BOC site for awhile. I see alot of western PA flathead fishermen are here. How about you eastern boys? Has anyone fished the Schuylkill River or Blue Marsh Res. for Flats. I have been fishing the Schuylkill for about three years since everyone started noticing Flats in the water. Have had some good luck. Biggest to date has only been 14 pounds but the population is pretty young. With time I expect some bigguns to show up.

As for all you three river area guys, I have been wetting my line in your area, and your flats are a bit different from the eastern ones, quite a bit harder to catch. I have sat in one place on the Schuylkill and have caught up to five flats in the course of an hour and a half, all dam fishing mind you. Haven't had that happen on the Allegehney.

Anyway was just wondering what us Eastern Flathead hunters have been up to.

2. jigerjim

jigerjim Member

State:
    North East Pa.
    For year's ago I moved to NE Pa. When I lived down there I never new there were Flat's there. We dont have them up here in NE Pa. yet, hopefully they'll get here some day. What part of Schuylkill are you fishin? with out going into pin point detail. I might have to make a road trip someday.

3. Catsfurducks

Catsfurducks New Member

I spoke with the fish commission, no one is sure how or when Flatheads were introduced. But judging from the size of the fish, average around 26 to 28 inches, and a good number in the 30+ inch class the fish are at least 8 to 10 years old.