Easiest to cast baitcaster fishing reel?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by grizzly, Jun 24, 2007.

1. grizzly

grizzly New Member

State:
    Griffithville, Arkansas
    What is the easiest casting reel to cast. Are the Abu's the best? I have 2 Penn's, a 209 and a 309 and I struggle casting with them.

2. kyjake

kyjake New Member

State:
    kentucky
    I have been using baitcasters for over 60 years and sometimes free running reels like the 209 and 309 will give me fits,other times can use them for days without a backlash.The Abu's are a little easier to cast but still use the Penn's when fishing for big fish.With practice and patients the Penn's will become second nature like riding a bicycle.
    Jake

3. bearcat

bearcat Member

State:
    Nokomis, Illinois
    The abus are easier because they have a cast control adjsutment. If you are having trouble with a penn try the abu. I had a penn and had no luck with it. Abu no problem.

4. C Hill

C Hill New Member

State:
    Catoosa, Oklahoma
    I've had a lot of trouble casting baitcasters but I got a Quantum iron and i can cast it a mile every time without backlashing.

5. PhillyCatcatcher4

PhillyCatcatcher4 New Member

State:
    S.W.Phila.,Penn.
    The garcia's break system when adjusted to the right setting works well for me ,no backlash:cross:.

6. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio
    I've never tried a PENN but the first time out of the box with a 6500 abu I casted it 40 yds with no backlash, little effort and was quite amazed. The 6500 and 7000's can be adjusted easily before every cast by turning a knob to tighten or loosen the spool depending on sinker and/or bait size.

7. xringer3

xringer3 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma