Dumb question about baitcasting

Discussion in 'Misc Fishing Tackle Talk' started by veryama1975, Jan 16, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    I'm getting a new catfish outfit: abu reel, new rod. I've never used a baitcast reel before & everyone says it takes some getting used & some snarls to untangle.

My question is: Does anybody know of any good instructional videos or books on how to use a baitcaster? Or is this just one of those things you gotta learn on your own? I don't know anybody who uses a baitcaster. Most everbody I know uses spinnning reels.

Thanks in advance for any help!
    :0a18:

2. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    I am not sure Matt. But I pettry much talk myself how to throw a baitcaster. with the help of the BOC!

3. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I don't know of any videos, but don't be afraid of the new reel. People will probably chime in and tell you how to adjust the spool tension at first so you don't backlash too much, and that'll help. The biggest thing is to keep your thumb so that it is just barely touching the spool (or almost touching it) during the cast, and then use your thumb to stop the spool as soon as the bait hits the water.

Since it will prolly still be a bit chilly for fishing when you get the new outfit, just tie on a sinker and go out to a field (or the the lake or river) and practice casting some. You'll get the hang of it in no time!

4. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Matt,Start by adjusting the brake so that the weight will pull the line off the spool and stop turning when it touches the ground,with the rod at about waist level. and at a 90* straight out in front of you angle . Then cast away ,applying a bit of thumb pressure as the weight makes contact at the end of the cast. Its easy ,and you'll get the hang of it in time ,just practice.

5. catfishlarryiowa

catfishlarryiowa New Member

State: