Duck Hunt from Boat or land???

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by JAYNC, Nov 30, 2006.

1. JAYNC

JAYNC Active Member

State:
    Newport N.C.
    I have a boat and I still havent found a blind that I either want to build or buy. I guess my question is, do most people just use the boat to get to where they want to hunt or do you have a boat blind. I would much rather hunt from a boat but I guess a pair of waders and decoys are cheaper than a blind and waders and decoys. If you do use the boat just to get to where you are going, how far away do you park it from where you are hunting, and do you try to conceal it. Sorry I have a lot of questions, I am new to duck hunting.

2. duxsrus

duxsrus New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    I do all of the above Jason. Successful hunters go where the birds are. Having a boat blind, waders, decoys, etc. allows you to be as mobile as possible. When I'm hunting out of a permanent blind and just using the boat as transportation, I just park the boat down the bank a little ways. It helps to have a fully camo'd paint job in that regards. I just cover up the motor with a motor cover and tie it securley to a tree. When hunting out of the boat itself, I use a Gooseview Duck Island blind. Hope this helps some.

3. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    Got a friend at work that is eat up with duck hunting. He is real successful hunting game lands on the resevoirs but he does alot of homework.
    Numerous trips before season just finding the ducks.
    He often times pulls a jon boat behind his 18 foot duck boat so when it gets too shallow he can keep going and going. Depends on where the ducks are as to whether he uses the boats for just transportation or hunts out of them.

Every Saturday morning there is a duck hunt here on the farm if they are in season. Its all done by walking down into the swamp. It sounds like a war for about 10 minutes. Its my Saturday morning alarm clock.