Drifting

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by andrew492, Jan 15, 2008.

1. andrew492

andrew492 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Im new at this drifting thing what is the best speed to drift at?

2. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo
    steve brown at catfishsafari .com taught me how to drift fish and with his gps 1/2 mile an hour is what he likes i would guese this to be a real slow walk. we use a big drift sock to slow us down from the wind its about the size of a kitchen table when open 6 ft circle or so if you need a drift sock his tackle shop number is 660-438-3135.

3. GMC FishHauler

GMC FishHauler New Member

State:
    Waco, Texas, Un
    i just started drifting this fall, we got all of out bites between .4 and .8 mph any slower and we couldnt get a good consistant line, and faster and just stopped biting.

4. tbull

tbull New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    I am new to drifting myslef, I was fortunate enough to get out with another member who showed me the basics..I am really excited about trying it on the big river

5. Chalk

Chalk New Member

State:
    Union, South Carolina
    .3 to .4 in the winter but you can go a little faster in the warmer months when the fish are more aggressive.:wink:

6. andrew492

andrew492 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    thqnks for the advice

7. andrew492

andrew492 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    what would the best depth be for drifting or does it matter

8. prostreetS10

prostreetS10 New Member

State:
    ohio
    I'm new to drifting aswell still have no clue as to how fast your supposed to go. I would deffinantly talk to catfishsafari (Steve Brown) He's a BOC sponsor. Knows alot about drifting for cats.

9. prostreetS10

prostreetS10 New Member

State:
    ohio
    Im with tbull i can't wait to learn how to drift on the big river.

10. andrew492

andrew492 New Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Thanks buddy ill have to check him out

11. biga