drifting

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by longhaulpointer, Dec 27, 2009.

1. longhaulpointer

longhaulpointer New Member

State:
    ohio
    ok, i know that i've asked about this before, but i'm very new to boat fishing and really don't know what i'm doing so i need to clarify some things. So with that said i checked out the video on drifting that was emailed around and i still have some questions that are probably stupid, but i need to know.

When drifting is the nose of the boat pointing down stream?
    if so, and i have a bow mount trolling motor do i steer it from the front when needed, or should i get a trolling motor for the back?
    when hooked on a fish, do you still keep drifting and have someone else steer if needed?
    When drifting and you get snagged good are you screwed and just cut the line?
    Is there times when the current is to fast to drift, or better yet what is an optimal speed for difting?

thanks for any help, i know that most of these questions must seem elementary but i've never really fished off a boat before i got one last summer

2. biga

biga Well-Known Member

State:
    evansville
    depending on were i am i will sometimes drift sideways to cover more area with my rods but most times with the nose up river and use my bow mount motor to steer if i get off course..
    if i get hooked up on a fish i keep on drifting unless i know i am heading for some snags then i may use the trolling motor to steer toward deeper water or just reel my other lines up off the bottom some and keep drifting....
    if you get snagged dont panic just get it out of the rod holder as quick as rou can and give it a few yanks like your setting a hook and most times it will break loose if not cut it.....
    and as for drift speed i have very little luck drifting in water over 1mph unless i use my trolling motor to stow me down...

3. little_fiddler

little_fiddler New Member

State:
    Otter Creek, Iowa