Drifting weights

Discussion in 'LOCAL SOUTH CAROLINA TALK' started by oldschooljohn, May 24, 2009.

1. oldschooljohn

oldschooljohn New Member

State:
    south carolina
    I am new to drifting for catfish. I need to know how to make the weights that looks like a shoe string filled with weights and then the cork and bait.:big_smile:

2. dknight

dknight New Member

State:
    South Carolina

3. droptine77

droptine77 New Member

State:
    Anderson, SC
    First of all welcome to the BOC. Check out the member library, it has alot of info you might find useful.
    Our good friend Wyliecat made this video. Hope it helps.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lD5ckwcVrM

4. Blake Wright

Blake Wright New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Welcome to the BOC! I would like to know where to get the supplies for makeing the drift weights.

5. deerhntr22

deerhntr22 New Member

State:
    Greenville, SC
    I use the same method as the video but I use bb's...it usually takes about 20 to 25 bb's for the 1 1/2 ounce weight...I get all of my stuff from a local walmart...hope this helps...:big_smile:

6. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    Slinky Weights:

Shot Pellet Dia. Avg. Wt. Approx.
    Size (Inches) (Grains) #shot/Oz.
    4 .24 20.6 21
    3 .25 23.4 19
    2 .27 29.4 16
    1 .30 40.0 11
    0 .32 48.3 9
    00 .33 53.8 8
    000 .36 68.0 6

One ounce = ~ 8 each, 00 shot or ~ 6 each, 000 shot.
    Table 1. Lead Birdshot
    ShotNumber Pellet Diameter(Inches) Average PelletWeight (Grains) Approximate # ofPellets per Ounce
    12 .05 .18 2385
    11 .06 .25 1750
    9 .08 .75 585
    8 1/2 .085 .88 485
    8 .09 1.07 410
    7 1/2 .095 1.25 350
    6 .11 1.95 225
    5 .12 2.58 170
    4 .13 3.24 135
    2 .15 4.86 90
    BB .18 8.75 50

Table 2. Lead Buckshot
    ShotNumber Pellet Diameter(Inches) Average PelletWeight (Grains)
    4 .24 20.6
    3 .25 23.4
    2 .27 29.4
    1 .30 40.0
    0 .32 48.3
    00 .33 53.8
    000 .36 68.0