Drifting Speeds

Discussion in 'SOUTH CAROLINA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by krowbar, Oct 28, 2007.

1. krowbar

krowbar New Member

State:
    South Caro
    I'm fairly new to drift fishing. Have had more sucess drifting slower than faster I've noticed. Most of the time I let the wind control my speed but when the wind stops I turn to the trolling motor. Any suggestions on what speed to drift or troll at?:cool2:

2. Coloman

Coloman New Member

State:
    Soddy Daisy, Tn
    Try keeping it down to .5 -1.0 mph.

3. Rockin' Blues

Rockin' Blues New Member

State:
    st.louis mo.
    We drift around 1 mph.We also use a drift sock to controll the speed as well as the direction.

4. roundhill

roundhill New Member

State:
    kings mtn
    jason i drift about 95% of the time i like to keep my speed at .05 or less sometime i use as much as 30ft of drift soc when my speed gos past 1mph and i cant get it down i go in becouse the wind has got over 25mph and i dont need to be on the water if you can find me down on santee sometime i whould give you a demonstration anytime.ron howard

5. krowbar

krowbar New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Ron, if I see you at Santee I will definitely take you up on that offer. Thanks for the great information. I love this website.

6. blackwaterkatz

blackwaterkatz Active Member

State:
    Andrews, SC
    What Roundhill said; works great for me. I can get by with a little faster speed when the water is warm, but in cold water, slower is definitely better. .5 or less at all times if possible on Santee Cooper.

7. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC
    Yep I prefer .3 to .5 too. Like Tommy said, in warm water .6 and .7 is not so bad but not much faster than that.

8. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Yep I prefer .3 to .5 too.

All right, just have to ask... are you speaking of 3 to 5 MPH or three tenths to one half MPH?

9. chrisblue

chrisblue New Member

State:
    SC