Drifting School.

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by One Legged Josh, Feb 17, 2009.

1. One Legged Josh

One Legged Josh New Member

State:
    Ohio
    S_MAN has told me some of the drifting basics to get me started. I was looking for some more ideas/insight on how to drift lakes. I have a small jon-boat with a gas motor and a 30 pound electric troller. I have stout frame mounted rod holders welded out of 1/2" material, and a bucket drift sock. I'm targeting channels for now but want to hit Salt Fork this year for flats.
    The lakes/resevoirs I will be drifting are pretty shallow all under 20 feet. I know tactics will be a little different for lakes than drifting rivers (prolly wont need the drift sock much).
    I want to cover some water and learn more about the structure with my fish finder. I have circle hooks ready to go, and cut/live bait available. I have drifted Erie for walleye but this is a little different.

I'm new to drifting whats your tried and true advise?
    Rigs, bait presentation,bait preference,speed, anything you think will help.

Thanks Again. CPR will be practiced!

2. BassMassey

BassMassey Well-Known Member

State:
    Oconee