Drifting for Channel catfish?

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by Circlehook Jester, Oct 17, 2009.

1. Circlehook Jester

Circlehook Jester New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Does anybody ever "drift" fish for channel cat? I have drifted big hunks of blood bait before and caught channels in resevoirs, but I was mainly fishing for blue cat. But I was thinking like maybe at Hillsdale or another resevoir that does not have blues. At least I have never caught one in the 12 years I have fished it. I wonder if you could drift shad heads or fillets and do well. I thought about drifting some of the river beds and ledges. Does anybody have any experience with this?

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 17, 2009
  2. smoothkip25

smoothkip25 New Member

State:
    ohio
    Im no expert on drifting but i have had much sucess this time of year drifting for channels. We use shad heads, cut shad, etc. We dont have Blues in our lakes so thats our only option this time of year. We catch alot of big ones drifting also.

3. Circlehook Jester

State:
    Kansas
    Thanks Kip! The lake I mentioned has a good population of channel cat and flatheads. I am also new to the "serious" drifting game. So, I think I will head out and give it a shot. Maybe i can get into 'em. :wink::big_smile:

4. leatherpuke

leatherpuke New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Last weekend at milford we caught two channels and two blues drifting shad heads.
    Of course, that's the first time I've ever drifted for cats so take it for what it's worth. But it seemed like it worked just as well for channels as it did for blues.

5. Circlehook Jester

State:
    Kansas
    Did you guys find these fish in the same locales at this time of the year? just curious?

6. JimmyJonny

JimmyJonny Well-Known Member

State:
    sc
    Anything will work while drifting. My favorite drift baits are herring or shad but they will take to most anything.