Drift sock use?

Discussion in 'Boating' started by oldstylelight, Aug 24, 2006.

1. oldstylelight

oldstylelight New Member

State:
    LeClaire, ia
    I am new to using a drift sock, but i think i have an application. i fish on the mississippi a lot and the current is very slow. Whenever the wind is blowing against it, the boat goes upstream and it is a constant battle to keep steady boat positioning. Would it help to throw the drift sock out the back and keep a steady pull on the back end while having one main anchor out the front diggin in? Anyone think of this or try it??

2. Katmaster Jr.

Katmaster Jr. New Member

State:
    Wilmington, NC
    I just use two drift socks, one in the front and one in the back, usually don't have any trouble then. I don't know if your idea would work good or not, sounds like it might work, but I just don't know.

3. Salmonid

Salmonid New Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    Problem with a drift sock is it will catch all sorts of debrie in it but it will work, just they are kinda big to work fish around. We use down here on our river a drift Bucket, ( I got this from Dink and I believe he got the idea from Doc) where we take a 5 gallon bucket, drill about a dozen holes in it with a 1/2 inch drill and tie it off the back, easy to pick up and move, if you got a fish on, easy to work around and quite effective. Also you can tie it off either corner or the center of the boat depending on the need. Cheap and easy, as long as there is a little current, if not, the drift sock may be the way to go, Also I use it on the bottom of the boat to hold all my plastic rod holders and bow lines so when not in use, its a storage container.
    be sure to let us know!

Salmonid

4. Mr.T

Mr.T New Member

State:
    MO
    This has been discussed here several times. Try a search of the forums.

A small drift sock ought to work just fine - a big one is just going to put a lot of strain on your anchor and maybe make it lose its grip on the bottom...