Drift fishing Kentucky Lake

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by eagle22, Mar 18, 2007.

1. eagle22

eagle22 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Guys I am new to drift fishing. I would like to start doing it on Kentucky Lake. I have a few questions and I could really use your help.

1. How do you set your poles up?

2. How does your poles set on your boat? In the back or on the sides?

3. Do you use spider rigs to drift or do you cast them behind your boat and drag them?

4. Do you use planer boards to spread the bait out more?

5. Do you drift next to the main lake channel? Or do you drift the ledge?

6. What do you look for in the bottom of the lake when drifting?

7. I would like to find some rollar coaster bottoms. Do you guys know where any is in the lake?

2. metalman

metalman Well-Known Member

State:
    IN
    Name:
    Winston
    Jason,
    This is how I do it,
    1.30lb fire line with a 3ft 20lb mono leader. A no snag weight slides on the main line above the swivel that joins braid to leader and a small cork 12"-18" from the hook. I use 6/0 circles but any hook will work.
    2. I fish the the rods out of the back of the boat using a drift sock to slow the boat. I use the wind if it's blowing where I want to drift or trolling motor if there is no wind or it is not going where I want.
    3. I cast the middle two rods straight back either side of the motor and the two outside rods out the side of the boat. As you drift they will come around
    to the back but casting them to the side helps keep everything from getting tangled.I let line out so I have the 4 baits at different distances behind the boat. Longer lines will be more likely to hang up than shorter lines but I never drift lakes with the baits closer than 30 yards from the boat unless I am suspending the baits (see below).
    4. No.