Downriggers For Catfish

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by brew1961, Nov 21, 2008.

1. brew1961

brew1961 New Member

State:
    West Virgi
    Downriggers For Catfish
    Ok, I'm new at specifically looking for big cats and even newer at trying to use a downriggers. I picked up two Cannon downriggers for $150 bucks in new condition. As I have read many Posts on BOC and on the web I have found very little on using downriggers specifically for catfish. I will tell you some Ideas I have and hopefully I'll get advise/tips from BOC members.
    • Fishing mostly on the Ohio River, some fishing will be done on lakes in West Virginia.
    • The rig- I'm thinking no weight while using the downrigger, either using a whole shad/skipjacks or cut bait on a hook. Putting out approximately 50-75 feet of line lowering the downrigger to a desirable depth using electronics and the counter on the downrigger .
    • Drift Fishing- I think using downriggers floating down the river adjusting the downriggers as you go would be a good technique for bait presentation on active fish. Maybe it would keep you out of a lot of snags that you would get into dragging the bait on the bottom using a Carolina rig. Using downriggers would give you very good depth control keeping the bait where you want it. Using the counter on the downrigger in a honey hole would allow you to log what you did in a particular place and be able to repeat it over and over again.
    • Anchoring- Lets say you are above a bridge and you wanted to fish along a supporting structure. You could go by using your electrons find out how deep you need to be, anchor up stream. Let out enough line to get to the desirable position attach your line to the cannon ball lower it down using the current to put you in the strike zone of any active fish. This would also work on any deep hole you would locate and wanted to fish.