Don't know what to take

Discussion in 'Salt Water Fishing' started by Poppa, Jul 10, 2009.

1. Poppa

Poppa New Member

State:
    Pinson, Al
    I have been invited to go on a salt water trip. A man I work with has a
    21' center console and he fishes oil rigs five miles out. He catches snapper
    and an occasional ling and such. Last trip he caught an 8' lemon shark.
    They had to chase the shark with the boat and after 45min. got it to the
    boat and cut the leader.
    My question is will my heavy cat rods be OK for this type of fishing as
    a general rule. I have ABU 7000 on an 8' medium heavy rods 30 lb. big
    game mono. and King Kat spinning on an 8' medium heavy rods with 30#
    big game mono.
    I have 2 Penn pier sticks with penn 309 on them. These are 5' solid glass
    rods heavy action and are really made to fish off of piers and they don't
    cast very well but are very strong.
    I have no experience with this type fishing.
    You salt water guys what would you take if you were me?
    If it makes any difference we will be fishing in the gulf of mexico off
    the Alabama coast.

2. recordbreakin1

recordbreakin1 New Member

State:
    texas
    You should be ok.The set up you got are pretty tuff only thing I would change is the 30# line to about 50# or more.I have had small sharks bust 80# power pro like it was nothing.Hope you have a good safe trip.Let us know how you do.

3. catfishhunter2009

catfishhunter2009 New Member

State:
    North Caro
    Your equipment should be fine . I use light tackle know matter where or what im fishing for . When I used to king fish I only used 30# test . Just put a good size leader . You might want to put on about 15-20 foot leader of 50# or so to your mainline . Good luck , be safe .

4. Swampfox.

Swampfox. New Member

State:
    Louisiana
    your rods and reels are good. make sure u got good leaders, those rigs can be unforgiving. u should be in for a treat.

5. CatsNstripers