Does anybody eat the Minnesota River catfish?

Discussion in 'MINNESOTA RIVERS TALK' started by kjr, Sep 8, 2005.

1. kjr

kjr New Member

:eek: I'm on! Does anybody eat these cats from MN? What kind of contaminmants are we looking at?

2. Larry

Larry New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    Interesting question....... To date I have not eaten any myself. (I'm fairly new to catfishing) One of my buddies smoked one of the fish, I think that it would have been pretty good but the seasoning was way off. Way to salty (like soy sauce).
    I did a little research recently on a DNR website that list contaminates in fish through-out Minnesota. The statistics stated that it was safe to eat one meal a week for everyone including Pregnant women and young children, on fish of all sizes, out of the Minnesota River. The only contaminate was Mercury.
    I do like Catfish at restraurants so I think I'm gonna make a meal out of the next 5lbr or less I catch. Im not really comfortable eating anything bigger. My biggest concern is the MN river flows through lots of Farm land and there may be pesitcides. But I think that most of that breaks down and that part of the River is over 30 miles away. I know that for the Mississippi in MN they recommend eating one fish a month due to PCBs which is no real surprize.
    I wish I could be more specific. But Catfishing is not very big up in this state....... (That I know of) Ive been fishing for over 30 years for everything but Catfish, and no one seems to have much input. Let me know your thoughts on it and what its like where your from.

3. nuthinlikeacat

nuthinlikeacat New Member

State:
    Eden Prairie, Minnesota
    What Larry says is true about the contaminents, and meals of fish you can eat.