Do you like it to stretch?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by veryama1975, Feb 2, 2008.

1. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    Well just got my first ever baitcast reel: the abu garcia 6000 from wal-mart. I love it! I've spent quite a bit of time practicing with it today & have had several backlashes but they weren't too hard to get out.

I loaded it up with cheap 30lb mono. I eventually intend to load it with 20lb mono when it's time to fish. I just heard that it would be easier to learn with bigger line. I'm not sure if this was the best line to learn with. It is so stiff that it seems to backlash more. However, I've never used a baitcaster before so I obviously don't know if I even know what I'm talking about:)

I would appreciate any advice on what size & type of line would be best to learn baitcasting with. Also, I would like to know what kind of line you guys prefer when it's time to actually fish. I would think you would like stretchy mono for set lining (using circle hooks & loading up) & that you would like non-stretchy braid for when you want to set the hook with a "j" hook.

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Reel_Blues

Reel_Blues New Member

State:
    Virginia

3. Reel_Blues

Reel_Blues New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I dont know what happened there with that quote but its all there.

4. veryama1975

veryama1975 New Member

State:
    South West Mich
    What's easier to cast? What causes less backlashes? Mono or braid?

5. crazy

crazy New Member

State:
    Kansas CIty, MO