DO FLATHEAD CATFISH REALLY HIT LIKE BULLHEADS ALL THE TIME?

Discussion in 'LOCAL INDIANA TALK' started by BIGCATFISH64, Jun 21, 2009.

1. BIGCATFISH64

BIGCATFISH64 New Member

State:
    Muncie,Indiana
    I really have'nt caught all that many flathead catfish in my life, so I'm no expert, but the ones that I have caught, and the ones my buddies have caught, have all hit like small bullheads,even the 40lber my brother-in-law caught hit like that, hell, I've even caught ones I did'nt even know they were on the end of my line until I started to reel them in.
    Is this what I have to look forward to all of the time when targeting these fish. I've heard that they hit like frieghttrains and frankly I have'nt seen it yet.:confused2::eek:oooh:

2. Iowa_Josh

Iowa_Josh New Member

State:
    Central Iowa
    I just got schooled in that Friday. I caught a couple last summer in August that hit and run but there wasn't really any current and the water was shallower. In a lot of current, I don't think they like to turn around that much.

3. bream reaper

bream reaper New Member

State:
    Indiana
    For me more are slow steady and strong, leaving no doubt when they hit and put a good bend in my rod (tightlining with circles). I get the occational light biter that sits still.

4. treddinwater

treddinwater Active Member

State:
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    I've had a few hit like that...but my bigger ones I've caught have slammed my bait. My personal best (a 25lber) doubled over my heavy action set up...had it propped up in some rocks, what a rush when that one hit :roll_eyes:

5. shortbus

shortbus New Member

State:
    indiana