Do flathead catfish hit like bullheads all the time?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by BIGCATFISH64, Jun 21, 2009.

1. BIGCATFISH64

BIGCATFISH64 New Member

State:
    Muncie,Indiana
    I really have'nt caught all that many flathead catfish in my life, so I'm no expert, but the ones that I have caught, and the ones my buddies have caught, have all hit like small bullheads,even the 40lber my brother-in-law caught hit like that, hell, I've even caught ones I did'nt even know they were on the end of my line until I started to reel them in.
    Is this what I have to look forward to all of the time when targeting these fish. I've heard that they hit like frieghttrains and frankly I have'nt seen it yet.:confused2::eek:oooh:

2. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member

I don,t know whats up with that deal Doug.I,d say less than 10% of my fish have ever played around with it,most of them just take off for parts unknown.Are you using big live bait?:wink:.

3. patrickgd

patrickgd New Member

State:
    Memphis TN
    I've had them hit real soft like Bullheads and also hit hard like Blues and sometimes the line will just go slack. Never know what them Flatties will do.

4. slikk03

slikk03 New Member

State:
    illinois
    it depends were your at, if your on a lake at night, they hammer it down and pull, if your in a log jame they might pullhard or just mouth it, if your at a dam they will not move at all ,they just tugg, ,,this is my experiance, and the bigger the slower they takeoff,

5. BIGCATFISH64

BIGCATFISH64 New Member

State:
    Muncie,Indiana
    Yes sir, I've used live bait & cut bait and still the same result.

6. slikk03

slikk03 New Member

State:
    illinois