Directions

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by Tommy Davis, Jun 5, 2006.

1. Tommy Davis

Tommy Davis New Member

I know at Deep Bottom Boat Ramp you can not launch after sunset, so can you launch at Dutch Gap any time? Also how can i get there from 295. Any Help!!!!

Thanks,
    Tommy D.
    Wilmington, NC

2. jonnycat

jonnycat New Member

State:
    Maryland
    I have been launching at Deep Bottom all hours of the night for the past 5 years. No one has ever approached me & told me different. The Game Warden told me one time that as long you don't raise a lot of noise it should be OK. I drive from just south of Baltimore(3 hrs one way) to the James and my schedule does not always coincide with daylight hours. It will be somewhat closer for for you to go to Dutch Gap but I have never been to that ramp from the road. I have not to this day, ever had my vehicle or contents in the truck bed, messed with or vandalized. Maybe this will help with your situation. I am trying to set up a trip for Fathers Day weekend. Later for now---jonnycat

3. gottafish

gottafish New Member

State:
    Chesapeake, VA
    Can't help with directions. I come from the other direction. But the sunrise/sunset thing is for people using the park for "other than" launching and recovering boats. You can use the ramp 24/7.

Just don't put anything in the dumpster. Guys have been arrested for doing that :crazy:

/Scott

4. Tommy Davis

Tommy Davis New Member

The guy that lives there literly called the police one night on me saying that i was trespassing, this was around 9pm. I just got back in my truck b/c i didn't want any trouble and made that long drive back home. Now it was only 1 hour because i lived in Hampton, VA then but still what a wasted trip. Anyway I will check with the Game and Fisheries about that boat ramp.

Tommy D

5. kayakgeek

kayakgeek New Member

State:
    Fredericksburg, VA