Dilly trailer pivot. What for???

Discussion in 'Boat Modification Journal' started by Dallaskatdaddy, Nov 7, 2008.

1. Dallaskatdaddy

Dallaskatdaddy New Member

State:
    Texas
    I HAVE AN OLD DILLY TRAILER THAT HAS A PIN NEAR THE FRONT, ONE DAY I DECIDE TO PULL IT OUT AND THE WHOLE THING SWUNG UP IN THE AIR AND THE REAR END OF MY BOAT HIT THE GROUND. BAM!!! :eek:oooh:
    AND I SAID TO MYSELF, "HMM.. I WONDER WHAT THATS FOR?" :confused2:
    I'M NEW TO ALL THIS AND THIS IS MY FIRST BOAT SO I DONT HAVE A CLUE WHAT IM DOING. DOES ANYONE KNOW WHAT THE PUPOSE OF THE PIVOTING ACTION IS FOR???
    [​IMG]

2. catman4926

catman4926 New Member

State:
    Texas
    I would think that is for shallow loading

3. Brentkeele

Brentkeele New Member

State:
    Nokomis, Illinois
    Harold is right. I have a 70's model dilly that has that same option. It tilts for launching and loading in less than ideal conditions. Most of the older trailers that I have seen with this option have had the pin replaced with a bolt to eliminate any rattling that may be inherent to this design. Those that own trailers with this option rarely use the tilt feature (at least that is what I have found in my observations).

4. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    I have welded every one of them that I have had, never trusted them!!!

5. cantstopgrandma

cantstopgrandma New Member

State:
    MD
    Dont know about a dilly trailer, but most of the tilt trailers I have seen have a chain looped underneath to keep them from tilting too far (which would keep your boat from hitting the ground. But then again, the more i think about it, most tilt trailers i have seen dont have a pin you pull, they just have a pivot....the boat's weight when pulled all the way onto the trailer keeps them from tilting. Its really nice when you dont have much water and need to winch a boat onto the trailer.

6. Randy

Randy New Member

State:
    Trinity,Texas