Different kinds of catfish bites

Discussion in 'Bank Fishing' started by Mccallister25, May 26, 2020.

1. Mccallister25

Mccallister25 Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Name:
    Zach
    A lot of times when I’m fishing I’ll notice that it seems like a fish will slam my bait and my rod will jerk just once. After that it could be a while before my rod moves again, if at all. Just curious as to how catfish bite. Do they sometimes just mouth it and drop it? It seems like I miss quite a few bites unless the rod doubles over and I know 100% that a fish is swimming off with my bait. Thanks for any input guys. I’m still new to catfishing and want to learn as much as I can.

Herbhome likes this.
  2. trail11591

trail11591 Member

State:
    MI
    Name:
    Matt
    That’s tough always seems like my buddies rod never moves then you look over and it’s bent in half trying to get outta the rod holder... while mine most of the time it seems like they are just mouthing it and I get them maybe I should pay less attention and I’ll get the good hits that he gets

3. Thunder head

Thunder head Well-Known Member

State:
    Georgia
    Name:
    Steven
    Who knows,
    It can be different from one day to the next.

I think, when your rod jerks hard once and then nothing happens for awhile. A small fish that couldnt get the bait in his mouth. Picked it up and took off with it. When it jerks out. it takes awhile for them to find it again.Or they just give up.

Blue cats mostly grab the bait and run with it. Not always though.

Flatheads will take the rod down slowly most of the time. Some times they will just lay right there and chew on it. Especially the small ones.

Mccallister25 and prlwng like this.
  4. prlwng

prlwng Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    south dakota. sioux falls area
    Name:
    bill
    Then there the ones that pick up bait and swim to you. Have had lines go slack in current and have to reel fast to set hook.

Mccallister25 likes this.