Differences in techniques for different species

Discussion in 'MINNESOTA RIVERS TALK' started by Ketch, Aug 30, 2007.

1. Ketch

Ketch New Member

State:
    Minnesota
    First, I would like to say this sure looks like an interesting group of people with quite a wealth of catfishing knowledge especially in regards to flatheads.

I on the other hand, don't know nearly enough about flathead fishing it appears. I have been catfishing for around 20 years now, but due to my locations and hectic work schedules haven't had the opportunity to fish many of the better flathead waters in our state until recently. I also had the luck to live in some of the best catfishing waters in the country (Santee-Cooper Resevoir area, Red River of the North (near Fargo), and SE Kansas on the Neosho River), but was unfortunately not old enough to benefit much from proximity to these fisheries. I did do some catfishing in Kansas, with a few successes, but that was 20 plus years ago and I didn't do much to glean knowledge from the guys there who really knew what they were doing.

Now, I am back in Minnesota, near the Le Sueur area and find myself fishing an apparently good river, but am still using river-lake channel cat methods with limited success for flatheads.

Here's my question(s).

What is your preferred rigging for each species.

What primary differences do you so in how you target each species

Any info you can give would be great.

Now to answer my question
    For channel cats I tend to use a 3 way swivel with a 9" drop leader (usually 20 lb) for weights and a 12" 30 lb leader for the hook (usually 2/0 or bigger depending on what sizes I am targeting)

2. rushing

rushing New Member

State:
    Minnesota