Deer Processing Questions.

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by One Legged Josh, Oct 11, 2008.

1. One Legged Josh

One Legged Josh New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have been processing my own deer for 5 or 6 years now. I dont do any thing fancy; backstraps, tenderloins, round roasts, steaks,stew meat, and burger/sausage meat.
    I have never "aged" the meat. If its below 40 degrees I will hang the deer for a couple of days.
    My question is this; There is a butcher that I work with that says "no matter how warm it is you have to "age" the meat". He let a deer hang last year for 3 days @ 70 degrees outside. He said he wont cut it up until the outside of the meat turns brown. I think he is nuts. What do you fellas think on "aging"/hanging.

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Josh,I'd be hard pressed to hang any game in temps above 40* I hung my deer overnite last yr but the temps were below 40. I am thinking about building a small shed with at least 10' tall peak and heavily insulated with a small ref. a/c unit to use for ageing. I could do it in the fridge ,but it takes a lot of room.A friend of mine has three gutted soft drink machines and he hangs quarters in them up to a week.

3. takeaction

takeaction New Member

State:
    Ware Shoals, SC
    The way my dad taught me, and his dad taught him... I process immediately. The minute the deer is down, he goes on the hook... Once it's cut up into the pieces, it goes on the table in the house, and is processed into the different cuts/burger. I "NEVER" wait, and we absolutely love the taste.

Personally, if I saw meat that was left out 3 days in 70 degree weather, it's ruined. throw it away...

I'll probably get yelled at for saying that, but that's my opinion. And by then, it already stinks.

4. on_the_fly

on_the_fly New Member

State:
    Kentucky