Deer liver for bait?

Discussion in 'Homemade baits' started by boswifedeb, Dec 13, 2009.

1. boswifedeb

boswifedeb USCA Jailhouse Lawyer

State:
    Tennessee
    Name:
    Debbie
    Hey, y'all. My husband Bo and I were talking the other night and were wondering how deer liver would work for catfish bait. Have any of y'all tried it? And if so, how did it work out for you? Thanks!

2. Smokin

Smokin New Member

State:
    Ca
    If it is legal to use then I would try it. I myself have no experience using it here as I do not think it is legal to use any part of a game animal for bait.

3. fishinfreak19D

fishinfreak19D New Member

State:
    Pittston, PA
    deer liver is some fine eatin, thats what i do with it, but i dont see how itd be any different from beef liver to use as bait, as for legality, im no expert on laws but i dont see why it would be illegal if the animal was harvested legally. i mean, if u can leave a gut pile in the woods for the crows and coyotes, why cant you throw some liver on a hook into a river for catfish.

4. Catfishboy1995

Catfishboy1995 New Member

State:
    Council Bluffs
    Never used deer liverbut i have used deer heart..and i got a coupple huge channels and a like 70 lb turtle and a couple 4 ft gar...lolit was worth it to get 2 18 lb channels though!!!!

5. boswifedeb

State:
    Tennessee
    Name:
    Debbie
    It's not illegal here, but we were just wondering if any of y'all had tried it. There usually isn't any heart left after Bo get's done shooting.:wink: He's a good shot. That's why we thought maybe we could use the liver.

Thanks for the input guys, I'll tell him.

6. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro