deer hide

Discussion in 'Trapping & Fur Taking' started by massa_jorge, Nov 28, 2009.

1. massa_jorge

massa_jorge New Member

State:
    TEXAS
    i did a lot of trapping as a kid, so i had some background for doing a deer hide- to a point. i have a buddy who was waiting for a head shot deer so he could save the hide. i shot one in the head last week, so i skinned it real nice and scraped and salted the hide. here's where the problem lies. i have no experience whatsoever beyond that. we sold furs salted, stretched and scraped or on the cob. he wants to do it with the hair on, so what are some good references or tips? thanks.

2. CNTRYBOY

CNTRYBOY New Member

State:
    Benton, Ar
    Jordan - your off to a good start from what I know- which is not much. I trapped as a kid also, but we sold ours green- which meant you skinned it and rolled it up with the fur side out and froze it until time to sell.

But, I thought I might try to tan one also. There are a number of ways to do it with or without the fur. I just typed in Tanning Deer Hides and did a search. There are several sites listed from simple to hard.

But one I found said that this way would give you a soft tanned hide with the fur on. It says to clean the skin of all meat , fat and etc. Then to nail it to a 4 x 8 piece of plywood , stretching it as you go. Once stretched and tacked with the hair side to the board, you rub Sea Salt into it for 4 to 5 days. Then let it dry. Once dried then you will need to roll it often until it becomes soft. Rolling it back and forth will break the Fibers in the skin and give you a soft supetable hide. Some hair may be lost but not much.

Hope this helps - I will try to let ya know how mine turns out. It is drying right now and should be ready to untack and start rolling soon!

3. CNTRYBOY

CNTRYBOY New Member

State:
    Benton, Ar
  4. bream reaper

bream reaper Member

State:
    Indiana