Decoy setup

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by mangus, Sep 24, 2006.

1. mangus

mangus New Member

State:
    n.c.
    any ideas on how to set my decoys up? i am new to duck hunting and i hunt by myself or with people that know about as much as i do. i would like some good suggestions on some good duck calls also.

2. quackkillsduxs

quackkillsduxs New Member

State:
    madison mississippi
    how to set your decoys up as in how to put them out or how much string and weight to put on there? and the duck call all depends on how much you wanna spend

3. shotdemducks

shotdemducks New Member

State:
    kansas
    Set mine out in an open ended "U" shape alot of times, or semi "j" shape want to leave a good area for landing in front of you. Depends on number of decoy ya have and body of water your in. I have learned alot about decoy layout by watching them in the wild how they do it is the BEST way to apply it to hunting. As far as calls, whatever is easy for you to use, just starting I would say SINGLE REED CALLS would be the best, and again while ya watch listen and immitate what ya here. Good luck, NATURE AND TRIAL AND ERROR ARE YOUR BEST TEACHER. Good luck to ya.

4. Blue Duck

Blue Duck New Member

State:
    Idaho
    Depends on several things. What kind of ducks are you hunting for? How many decoys do you have and what species? Ducks generally land into the wind. If you only have a few decoys its hard to get fancy. Set them up within range and leave a landing spot (hole) in a handy spot where your shots will be easy.

5. shuorc

shuorc New Member

State:
    fl
    You can 'practice' decoys and calls all year and save hunting season for shooting. One of the prettiest things i've seen is a duck dropping it's feet into a set of decoys .

6. mangus

mangus New Member

State:
    n.c.