Deadly instruments.

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by peewee williams, Jun 24, 2006.

1. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia
    Help it live! I once built a 20'x60x4' deep pond in my yard.It was fed by a 4" flowing well with over a 1000 gallon a hour (measured) flow.The water was crystal clear.I stocked it with local caught fish out of the same watershed as the pond.I left the hooks in many as I did not want the fish damaged anymore than necessary.They were going to rust out in a few days anyway,right.WRONG!!! At best it took weeks to months on the plain steel hooks.I gave up on the Tinned,Gold plated and Stainless Steel hooks.Even acid don;t eat Gold and our Acid pumps were Stainless Steel at the Chemical plant where I was a mechanic.Remember.Not only could I see these fish,they became pets and would eat out of your hands.It often eats out a large hole where the hook is in the flesh.Also,several times,food would catch and hang on a exposed hook,so that a fish would be fighting with something in its mouth that it could not swallow.I found that cutting the EYE off of the hook seemed to let the hook work on through easier and quicker.Quite a few of these fish got real skinny and died with time.I learned two lessons from this.Use a hook that will rust,but more important get a pair of pliers that will let you cut the eye off of the hook,instead of cutting the line.Please also remember that Braid does not deteriorate normally.peewee-williams

2. catmanofohio

catmanofohio New Member

State:
    Aberdeen (Southern Ohio)
    WOW... rep points for this.. lot of time and effort into the study... thats why most Pay-Lakes dont allow stainless hooks.. just the bronze ones. :crazy:

3. peewee williams

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia