Daytime flathead catfishing

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by STUMPKNOCKER, Jun 12, 2006.

1. STUMPKNOCKER

STUMPKNOCKER New Member

State:
    Georgia
    I am new to flatheads just wondering does the flatheads feed all day long or mainly at night and how far in a river will they swim to try to find a real deep hole, verses a avg. deep hole opposite sandbars, the river is real low right now, fishing wayne county altamaha river, thanks

2. shortshank

shortshank New Member

State:
    Oregon
    If the river you're fishing is low Mr. Flattie has already found his nitch. He has the best spot for living/feeding he can get. He has to be more oppertunistic now because he's not free to swim a long distance to eat and find cover. He will be at a place where he can feed without exserting to much energy and retire to the safety he requires. A good brush pile in about 10ft. of water would be an ideal place to start looking. Any deep hole with cover close by should be your ticket.
    Don

3. Chief

Chief New Member

State:
    Indiana
    it really doesnt even have to be deep just full of hiding places

4. qball

qball New Member

State:
    Odum, Ga
    I was down there this weekend we were catching some on bushhooks and some on poles most of the water was about 10 to 13 feet. Best times were around 10pm till 1am after that there wasn't much action.

5. qball

qball New Member

State:
    Odum, Ga
    I was there this weekend we were catching some on bushhooks and on poles. The water was about 10 to 13 feet. The best times was about 10pm till 1am. We wrer fishing 6 or 7 bends down from Lake Bluff.

6. Jackfish

Jackfish New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I have always had my best luck at dusk or dawn

7. STUMPKNOCKER

STUMPKNOCKER New Member

State:
    Georgia
    thanks for the info.

8. river scum

river scum New Member

State:
    hooterville indiana