Cutting bait

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by beakus, Nov 17, 2006.

1. beakus

beakus New Member

State:
    derby kansas
    whats the best way to cut bait(like that big carp).do you cut it up and freeze it or is it best fresh and is it the same for shad?i have never used carp but i read about a lot of people useing it.

2. Coyote1

Coyote1 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Brother John;
    I'm kind of new at this subject too but I do know that going with FRESH bait seems to work best especially if your going after the "BIGGUN'S".
    It depends on the size of the shad/herring/bluegill/ect, how you cut them up and the best one I know of to tell you is one of our members by the nick of "Deerhunter" Matter of fact, I "think" one of his videos shows how to cut shad!
    As for the Carp, I've not done it, seen it done, or been showed how to do it so I will leave that part of your question to those that have much more experience than I do!:smile2: Another person I know that can help you is "Whistler".
    Be patient, those that are better than me will find your question and give you much better, and more informative, answers than I can. Sometimes it takes a few days for everyone to see your question is all. One thing for sure; you WILL be getting the BEST information there is to be gotten in the world on this website!
    Hope this helps a little. :embarassed:
    Fraternally,:smile2:
    Coyote1
    [[[[[End of Post]]]]]

3. doughboy

doughboy New Member

State:
    newcomerstown,ohio
    Well there is different ways to cut bait you can fillet it or just cut the head off ( which is what I like to use ) and just cut it up in chunks according to the size of hooks you are using. And this will work with ant bait wetherit is carp ,shad ,bluegill ,etc. I hope this will help you on your quest for the big one

4. CatHound

CatHound New Member

State:
    Missouri
    This is how I prepare carp for cut bait.

1. Catch the carp