cut bait?

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by fishnohio, Jan 3, 2008.

1. fishnohio

fishnohio New Member

State:
    Middletown,Ohio
    i am new to flathead fishing and would like to know and see how you gentlemen cut your bait and do you just cut shad or do you also cut bluegills and what other fish have you had luck on cutting,if anyone know of some pics on how to cut bait it would be very helpful,,,,thanks in advance for any information........Mike

2. tncatfishing

tncatfishing New Member

State:
    clk. tn
    Shad and skipjack I like to fillet them. You can fish with the heads but have had better luck with the fillets as it exposes a greater area given off sent. Also can use the gut pocket or thread on the guts has worked great when other baits have not. Bluegill I like to use alive, but you can fillet them too.

3. Blacky

Blacky New Member

State:
    Philadelphia, P
    I like to use the heads. Bluegill and trout heads are deadly for flatheads and big channels in the river I fish.

When using the body section of the fish, make sure you always leave the guts and crap in there. it releases extra scent.

4. river scum

river scum New Member

State:
    hooterville indiana
    i carry scissors and cut them in half(or thirds if running low) keeping the rest alive till ready to bait up. i use gills mostly but thats because i can get them easiest. chubs, carp, sucker, shad, skippies,.......... any stinky baitfish will work. the question is what one they like better in your waters!

5. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    I cut my sahd in chunks, probably 2 pieces on a 8 inch shad..I love the heads!

6. catfishscotty

catfishscotty Well-Known Member

State:
    mo
    i like shad heads, black perch heads and fillets. if fishing current when i get off my lazzy butt to do it u really need to change cut bait around every 20 minutes i feel this really helps alot.

7. catfishrollo

catfishrollo New Member

State:
    Ohio