Cruelty: Is that zipper just for show.

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by postbeetle, Jun 7, 2007.

1. postbeetle

postbeetle New Member

State:
    Iowa
    If you were to ask me if it's cruel to cut a man's head off with a sword my answer would be no. For ideology, a law, or just being psycho if that is what's gonna happen it will happen. The cruelty occurred before with the capture, torture and imprisonment.
    As a Veterinarian I have seen cruelty many many times. An animal of any species does not get to vote. His straw is drawn by the person who acquires him. The first time I saw cruelty was in 1952. My Dad and I went to see a neighbor on business. The man, always known to be "different" was the last to use draft horses. We pulled in and he had a team hitched to a mower. A heavy piece of equipment and difficult for a team to pull because of the draft of the sickle bar. The inside gelding had a shoulder gall. The point of the shoulder where the collar fits and force is applied to pull whatever is behind. A gall is a draining open sore, sometimes quite deep and very painful. A horse just will not lean into the collar. Imagine an ulcer on the bottom of your foot and someone makes you walk down a gravel road barefoot. Tied to the front of the mower was a pitchfork. If the horse did not pull into the collar he would have to come back into the pitchfork. A dilemma for the horse eh?
    My Dad turned around and drove out. He would at the least seriously have
    hurt this man and maybe even have killed him. Later that summer the man hung himself from a hay-rope in his barn.