Critique my set-up please

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Dave200518, Jul 5, 2007.

1. Dave200518

Dave200518 New Member

State:
    Ashley, Michigan
    Ok everyone, this is my first time posting in this forum. After seeing all of the big fish everybody's catching, I finally got the itch.

So here is my setup.
    I am from michigan and fish a river that is VERY slow, VERY shallow (the average depth is around 2ft.), and VERY narrow. I will also be fishing the bank.
    I have a HUGE rod and HUGE open faced reel with 50 lb. spider wire. I will be using bluegills anywhere from 4-10 inches. I was just planning on doing a 3-way swivelle with a bell sinker ect, ect.
    Now my question is, Do I leave the bail open or closed when I am fishing for flatties? When they slam my bait do I set the hook right away or do I let the fish take the bait?

Thanks in advance,

Dave

2. catchinghogs

catchinghogs Well-Known Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    It would be nice if your reel has a baitrunner on it that way when the fish picks up the bait it wont rip your rod into the water and it makes bites easier to determine.

3. dafin

dafin New Member

State:
    Manhattan,Kan
    I fish for flats with a non bait runner spinning reel, I close the bail . If you are watching you will see the hit in plenty of time to pickup the rod. I don't let the fish run , when i feel they have it I set the hook , the smaller the fish the longer they take to get a bigger bait in.

4. river scum

river scum New Member

State:
    hooterville indiana
    if i had to use a spining reel i would loosen the drag enough to let line out without loosing my pole. as soon as nature called ,well you know.

5. Dave200518

Dave200518 New Member

State:
    Ashley, Michigan
    so if I buy a closed faced reel am I looking for one that has a bait clicker or is this different than what you guys are talking about.

Great replys, keep em coming

Dave

6. kayakgeek

kayakgeek New Member

State: