Creepin

Discussion in 'LOCAL PENNSYLVANIA TALK' started by Interpol689, Jun 8, 2009.

1. Interpol689

Interpol689 New Member

State:
    PA
    I've been lurkin around here for a while and decided to introduce myself. I just started fishing back in February, so I'm relatively new to the game. But I do research a lot, so Im learning slowly. I probably go fishing 5 times a week iv the weather holds out. I've caught a bunch of species, but catfish are by far my favorite. They're not a sissy fish like a bunch of the others. Ive only caught a dozen cats or so, but the last one I hooked into was my biggest fish yet and this is what made me love Mr. whiskers so much. For those Eastern PA natives that know about Leaser Lake near Jacksonville, Pa. THey know its being drained for dam repair. Well I've been fishing there for probably 2 months now and ive caught a crap load of sunnies, some bass, few crappie, some nice sized perch and about a dozen small bullheads. These bullheads were well under 1 pound. Ive been told there were channel cats in there but I never got any. Well this past sunday(6-7-09), I was fishing from 12:00 on and my parents came to partake around 3:00 since it was the Free Fishing Day. The fish werent biting real well before they got there. I think I only landed 2 fish in the 3 hours I was there before them. So right before they came I made a move to another part of the lake because there was no activity where I was at. I had my slip sinker out laying on the bottom in probably 5-6 feet of water, because thats all the deeper it is at most spots now. I keep checking my rod for a possible fish on it, while fishing for bass at the same time. I look at it one second and its like normal, no bend. I turn away to tie on another crankbait and turn back a minute later and the rod is doubled over. I knew it was big just from seeing that. Now this is not very big compared to the cats of some of the members on here , I'm sure, but this is a personal record and I was SO