Crappie Lights!!! I Got Me An Idea!!

Discussion in 'Blue Catfishing' started by glenmorebuckman, May 2, 2006.

1. glenmorebuckman

glenmorebuckman New Member

State:
    Caneyville, Ken
    I'm new at using underwater lights for crappie fishing at night, but I was amazed at how many shad come in to the lights. Just clouds of them circling the light. Has anybody tried using these to draw in shad for blue cats?

2. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    You using green lights or the regular white lights?

3. glenmorebuckman

State:
    Caneyville, Ken
    White lights. Q-Beam Starfire II.

4. ShilohRed

ShilohRed New Member

State:
    West Tn
    Everyone that I talk with that crappie fished at night. Catch a lot of blues . And sometimes they have to just quit. As the blues will take over.
    Pete

5. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Shiloh,
    You sayin that the lights attract the shad which attract blues, and the blues run off the crappies? That might be a good bait catchin tactic, plus I can stay right there and catfish.

6. NCCatter

NCCatter Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Hey Billy,
    How long did you have to wait for the shad to start comin in? Did you set up on a shallow flat, near a dock, etc. Just wondering cuz that might work where I fish at. Thanks for the advice!

7. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill
    I use the lights at night down around 10 to 12 feet and catch crappie and then its mostly blues.

The cats feel the vibrations in the water from the shad and crappie on a feeding frenzy and they come to it.

I use the green and white lights alternately. I have cut a big hole in some thick Styrofoam and inserted a head light and tied fishing line to it and get it away from the boat to just create a feeding frenzy.

8. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO