Cover = Myth?

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by ShipwreckDiver, May 7, 2007.

1. ShipwreckDiver

ShipwreckDiver New Member

State:
    Michigan
    Hi everybody, I'm new to catfishing and new to this site. I donned my scuba gear last year to hop in the river where I bank fish to see firsthand the river terrain to figure out why I had been catching so many large channel cats. All I read is about bends in the river and cover and log jams, but to my surprise I found that where I fish is FLAT, SANDY bottom with ZERO cover and ZERO logjams. I routinely catch 10lb+ channels on nearly a nightly basis. I'm beginning to believe that the channel cats patrol much more than a lot of people believe. I use live chubs hooked behind the dorsal fin with a three-way swivel set up. I started catching them on accident two years ago while catching bass late at night and then I started hooking big cats and ever since I've been ADDICTED to the point that I don't want anything less than 8-10lb fish to bite my hook. I've been taking pictures and I'll post them as soon as I can.
    I sincerely appreciate the great advice I've read on this site. For the past two years I've been catching the same size fish but on nightcrawlers only. I grew so SICK of catching pesky bullhead that swallow the hook that I finally wised up and switched to sucker chubs, about 6" long or so.
    I guess my advice is that at least in my opinion, you don't neccessarily need large amounts of cover to catch cats. Like I said, I went diving on my stretch of river and found nothing but 12" of water on a river stretch that may be 150 yards across, and sandy bottom. NO cover anywhere. Don't be afraid to fish other areas that may not look like the best cat waters.