Could this be a carp?

Discussion in 'Carp Fishing' started by nathan8372, Oct 19, 2006.

1. nathan8372

nathan8372 New Member

State:
    South Texas
    hey guys, I have been fishing on the Nueces River in South Texas for about 10 years now and have caught several carp in my time there. I was wondering if anybody recognizes this fish, could it be a carp? It measured 31 inches and jumped around the boat for about 20 minutes till I unloaded it at the dock.

He was caught on a trot line baited with live goldfish.

Attached Files:

2. jdstraka

jdstraka Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Council Bluffs, Iowa
    Name:
    John
    I can't really tell from the picture but it sorta looks like what we have here in the Missouri river in Iowa and we call them Big mouth carp and they are planton eaters,although I have never cought one it might also be a be a Grass carp! I Bet we have some Folks here that Know excatly what you have there. What do You Think Guys Help us Out. J.D.

3. flatheadsteven

flatheadsteven New Member

State:
    ohio
    thats a grass carp.they are fun to catch.i usually catch them on a ultra light rod with small hooks and corn in a local pond.

4. Memphis_Catfish_King

Memphis_Catfish_King New Member

State:
    Memphis,TN
    from the scales looks like a carp

5. Nightprowler

Nightprowler New Member

State:
    ohio
    Hey Nathon welcome to the B.O.C.

6. Desperado

Desperado Active Member

State:
    Pataskala, Ohio
    Name:
    Clarence
    Looks like a grass carp. Never heard of one caught on a fish. They eat vegetation. We shoot them in lakes.

7. nathan8372

nathan8372 New Member

State:
    South Texas
    Thank you guys for the replies, I knew it was some sort of carp I just didnt know for sure.

I found this board on a yahoo search and everyone here seemed to be real friendly, I am glad to have joined the board!

~Nathan

8. true1212

true1212 New Member

State:
    Ohio