Correct way to set drag ?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by kyron4, May 16, 2006.

1. kyron4

kyron4 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    Hard to believe I've been fishing for over 20 years and I'm still not 100% sure on how to set the drag on a fishing reel. :crazy: I read it should be set at 1/3 the line strength. So with 20 lbs. test do I tie a 7 lbs. weight on the line, lift it off the ground, and loosen drag until it starts to slip ? I use mainly closed face spincact (Zebco 33, 733) but also use some spinning reels. Is it the same process for both ? Thanks , and try not to laugh to hard :embarassed:

2. IL Hunter

IL Hunter New Member

State:
    Normal, IL
    The best way to set it exactly is to use a weight tied to it.

3. TxRiverman

TxRiverman New Member

State:
    Lockhart Tx
    I use the 1/3 of the line weight formula also, I set mine using a fish scale.Just attach your line to the hook on the scale and pull on the scale. Make the adjustments to your drag as needed. Using the 1/3 of the line weight formula works with mono,but not the braided lines.Because braided is alot stronger than mono for its size(example;65lb Power Pro has a 0.016 Dia. and your typical 20lb mono has a 0.018 - 0.020 Dia), you need to be careful when setting your drag. Most reels on the market dont have enough drag to use the 1/3 formula for braid,as you can harm your drag washers if you set it to high. I have 2 Shimano Calcutta 250's that I use for catfishing,and i think everybody will agree that Calcutta's are pretty decent reels, and they only have 11-12lbs of drag at max. So if your using braid of a high test poundage,set your drag like you would using mono of a compareable line Dia. Hope this helps.

4. LarryW

LarryW New Member

State:
    Abbeville Louisiana
    There is a good artical in the library on setting the drag that I think is better. I do not know how to bring it up on here or I would.

5. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio