Combination baits...

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by GoFish_Tony, Jul 5, 2006.

1. GoFish_Tony

GoFish_Tony New Member

State:
    Big Rock, IL
    I know this is probably a dumb question. But please understand I am VERY new to fishing.

I was fishing this weekend and was having no luck with either of my dip baits. I was getting near the bottom of both containers and decided to combine them (blood & cheese) on my Looper treble hook rig. Still no luck, so I did the same and this time added a small piece of Berkley Catfish Powerbait. Well, I wish I could say that was the magic combination, but I still had no luck.

Later I tried the same thing along with a piece of hotdog (left over dinner) and caught my first Long-nosed Gar. (Had no idea what it was until I got home and looked it up on the internet. Mine was 29” long and fought like a Northern Pike. What a STRANGE looking fish!)

My question to you all is:
    Is there a good combination of baits that you have tried?
    Have you ever thrown a catfish smorgasbord out, and did it work?
    _

2. Taliesin

Taliesin New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Frankly I have never had much luck at all with dough baits or dip baits.

Saying that, I have had good luck on worms, minnows (both bought and caught), bluegill, chicken livers, and fresh shad (never had luck with frozen).

3. ASASIN

ASASIN New Member

State:
    Lawson Missouri
    For bigger catfish on dip baits I've had luck mixing Benny Roberts Sure Shot Punch Bait and Cattracker Baits Wicked Sticky. Have caught them up to near 14 lbs with this combo. God bless.

4. teaysvalleyguy

teaysvalleyguy New Member

State:
    GC, OHIO
    I have never combined stink baits Tony.

I combine Chicken Liver and Garlic 99% of the time I use Chicken Liver.

5. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    Shrimp and a nightcrawler is a pretty good combo bait.

6. dcaruthers

dcaruthers New Member

State:
    Alabama