Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner

Clicking noise in a Penn 209

6K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Ictalurus Punctatus 
#1 ·
I just got 3 Penn 209's and as I have been oiling them I noticed that 2 of them making a clicking noise when I crank (even with baitclicker turned off) and 1 does not make any noise. Should they all be quiet or should they all click?

Any help is appreciated.

#2 ·
Hi BajaCoop,

I have a 209, 109, jigmaster, and Long Beach 60. Mine and many of the Penns I have tried make a quiet tick-tick-tick... sound when the clicker is off. What I have found is if I grease them up too much after a cleaning the ticking sound goes a way until the grease has been more evenly distributed. I got the Jigmaster from Ebay, it was quite dirty and did not make the ticking sound until I took it a part and cleaned it.

Hope this helped,
P. nasuta

#4 ·
Ed I have a 209 I bought in 1972 and fished with all them years heck I even lived on a sailboat in Fla. Bay for part of 1986 and all of 87(cought a 4ft black tip shark the frist time I fished saltwater with it) and I never cleaned it till on up in the 1990s and it had never made a clicking noise.I would say you need it take it apart and give it a good cleaning.

#5 ·