Clicker Questions

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Critter Getter, Sep 15, 2009.

1. Critter Getter

Critter Getter New Member

State:
    Elnora, Indiana
    I'm going to be fishing the White River in the near future and am wanting to try freespooling with the bait clicker on. With the water level so low I'm gonna be in a jon boat without any rod holders and I don't want to see one of my poles decide to jump out of the boat when i'm not paying attention... I mostly fish the Ohio River and there is too much current so I have never tried it before. What type of hooks should I use is one of my biggest questions. I use circles for tightlining, would they work fine for freespooling or should I use a Kahle or J-hook?

Last edited: Sep 15, 2009
  2. thunderchicken

thunderchicken New Member

State:
    Yuma Az
    I like J hooks myself. Recently bought some circle hooks but haven't used them much yet so can't really say although a lot of guys use them and swear by them. I made a cheap redneck rod holder using a nylon rope stringer and 2 el cheapo clips like guys use for keys. Tie one on each end of the stringer, wrap one end around a boat cleat or other stationary object on boat and clip the rope. On the other end, make one single wrap around your rod and pole and clip the rope. Now you have an inexpensive, portable insurance policy to make sure Mr. Big doesn't take your rig and you can relax and enjoy fishing the way it was intended. Hope this helps.

:cool2:

3. JAinSC

JAinSC Active Member

State:
    South Carolina
    Not to sound like a jack@$$, but my best advice would be to get some rod holders. You can buy some good clamp on portable models or just build some out of PVC tubing and attach them to the boat. I had about 6 or 8 PVC tube holders in my old jon boat and they are by far my favorite rod holders of any I have used.