cleaning squirrels

Discussion in 'Small Game Hunting' started by flatheadslayer, Dec 14, 2009.

1. flatheadslayer

flatheadslayer New Member

State:
    Thomaston, Geor
    i've been cleaning squirrels all my life,and the only problem i have is after i skin them they are covered in hair,i even wet them first,and that helps,but they still get hair on them.that hair is hard to get off,is they're a trick to getting the hair off the meat?

thanx

2. Thad

Thad New Member

State:
    Mississippi
    The only cure for that is not getting the hair on there in the first place.
    There are a couple of techniques for skinning them without touching the meat. I'm not good at either of them. :smile2:

My grandpa sure could, though.

3. catfishjon

catfishjon New Member

State:
    texas
    I use the thin green pan scrubbers you get at the grocery store. They come in 6x9.5 inch size and you can cut them into smaller pieces. Just rub them over the skinned squirrel and they will remove all the hair. Catfishjon

4. waynesburgjay

waynesburgjay New Member

State:
    Pennsylvan
    I might help to wet the fur down first.

5. Bobpaul

Bobpaul New Member

State:
    Supply NC
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  6. bnewsom71

bnewsom71 New Member

State:
    Mathervill
    This isn't a perfect fix, but it works real good with skinning any critter, whether it has feathers or fur. Always cut the skin against the way the hair or feathers is laying. It will definitely cut down on the amount of hair and feathers all over everything. Hope this helps!

7. postbeetle

postbeetle New Member

State:
    Iowa
    Never grab the cut edges when pulling. Don't try and skin without the critter stabilized by someone else or hung. Once you get that squirrel skinning down pat, come up and teach me how to skin a sheep without contaminating the meat with wool. Yuk that lanolin taste sucks.

8. flatheadslayer

flatheadslayer New Member

State:
    Thomaston, Geor