Clamped and mangled bullhead catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by jmjackson333, May 23, 2007.

1. jmjackson333

jmjackson333 New Member

State:
    Spencer, O
    Hello, I'm new to the BOC. I haven't read through all the archives and threads yet to see if this question has been answered elsewhere, but... In a recent attempt to catch a flathead, (never have yet), I had two seperate baitfish(5" bullheads) completely mangled! One looked like it had been clamped with a pair of vice grips, absolutely crushed about midway down his body. The other had the skin ripped off his driver's side! Did a flathead do this or just a large channel? I thought flatties were supposed to just engulf the baitfish. They werent cut, just crushed. Therfore I'm ruling out snapping turtle. On the second one, I and my partner, (this was during a neocats tourney) witnessed the float SLAM under the water. Only to emerge instantly never to twitch again. I had the first one hooked through the lips then I hooked the second one through the tail. Any thoughts?

2. JHow

JHow New Member

State:
    South East
    I can't answer that, but I had the same thing happen. I was checking my trotline, and I found a dead 6-8" lil' channel cat on it. It was mangled pretty bad as well. Its skin was scratched all over, not cut and slashed like a gar would do. Wish that cat would have eaten its way up a few more inches!

3. KanHeadhunter

KanHeadhunter New Member

State:
    S. E. K.
    This is just a guess but the bullhead that was crushed was probebly hit(kill bite) by a flathead. They hit it and back off a little and comeback to finish it. The one that had skin tore off on side sounds like gar, they don't have the power in their jaws to crush it. They just grab and rip.

4. kickin_wing

kickin_wing New Member

State:
    Illinois