Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner

Circle hook and baitrunner

4K views 23 replies 12 participants last post by  qaldkmc;2pejr 
#1 ·
I'm a beginner catfish fisherman. I use 6/0 circle hooks and a 6500 bait runner reel. I use hot dogs as the bait.
Is it possible to use circle hooks with a bait runner? How the fish end up on the hook if it keeps unspooling the line?
I've seen a rig where you put a line trough the bait and then you tie it to the hook. I think is the solution to my problem.
If you know this rig, I would like to have a link to it.

#2 ·
Welcome to the forum! I think you will like it here.
Circle hooks need steady tension to pull out of the fish's mouth and hang up in the corner or the upper or lower bars of the mouth. If the fish can swim freely with it he may end up swallowing the bait and hook. You'll still catch him but getting the hook back will be a challenge and he might not survive to be released if that is your aim.
I fish free-line at times but mostly for the clicker to get my attention. As soon as I hear the alarm I lock down the reel, reel up the slack, and let the rod do the job of setting the hook.

#3 ·
Cf86,
I believe you are referring to the hair rig. The way it works is pretty much the total opposite of how a circle hook works. That’s not to say you’ll never catch a fish using the hair rig on a circle hook but it will be in spite of and not because of.
As Neill says, use the baitrunner to signal the bite and then simply engage the reel with the rod up at an angle and let it load into its curve so the circle hook does its thing…… Fish on!!!
Or, if you want to use a hair rig then do so with a J hook. When the fish runs it will, nine time out of ten, be already hooked so just tighten into it and….. Fish on!!!
…W

#6 ·
Stan, I think 6/0 circles would be a good size to use where your at. I say where your at because It appears from what I have seen that channels up there tend to be bigger than most channels here in Indiana.