Chumming?

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by Little Luey, Nov 9, 2006.

1. Little Luey

Little Luey New Member

State:
    Arizona
    Can someone please tell me what this "Chumming" is all about?

I am a complete newbie, thank you.

2. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Chumming is like baiting a hole. Used to be a person would take a sack of seed or cottonseed meal, and throw/tie it out in a certain area. As the meal disolved it attracted minnows and small perch, which attracted larger fish, which in turn would hopefully attrack the species you were after. Chummin, as it relates to this board is to spread the god-awfullest stuff you can imagine to attract the catfish to the area your fishing or are planning on fishing. Some of these attractants are a 5 gallon bucket 1/2 full of milo, soaked in water, and allowed to ferment...takes about three weeks to get a starter, but two or three months is better. LOL. Rumor has it that if this bucket is spilled in your boat or car, you try to sink the boat or wreck the car and file an insurance claim as the smell does not come out. Be carefull, now.

3. mskittyfish

mskittyfish New Member

State:
    Wisconsin
    We've used range cubes for chumming. We get a 50 pound bag at the feed store for like $7 and yeah! they dont stink! We take a big ole coffee can down to our fishin spot and throw the range cubes out as far as we can from shore. Within half an hr, the cubes have begun dissolving and pull the cats closer into shore where we can reach them. If ya can chum on a regular basis, you are sure to have a great fishin spot and can catch some nice size cats just about any time you want! Only downfall is that chummin with range cubes also attracts those half bass fishermen too....you know the ones with the big fancy $35,000 boats that they buy so they can reach the shore from the middle of the lake!:baffle:

4. Little Luey

Little Luey New Member

State:
    Arizona