Chumming for Catfish

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by bhunt, Feb 14, 2006.

1. bhunt

bhunt New Member

State:
    *Required*
    I would like to chum a few holes for a young boy who loves to catch cats. I have a boat and i fish lakes with no current. Do i need to bait the holes all the time even if im not fishing that day? If so how many times a week should I bait them? It doesnt matter how big the cats are he just loves to catch them. I live close to a lake and I am a paramedic and I work 24hours and than im of for 48 hours so putting out bait all the time isnt going to be very hard. Thanks for any help.

2. TDawgNOk

TDawgNOk Gathering Monitor (Instigator)

State:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    bhunt,

It depends on how you are chumming, and what you are chumming with. I would suggest placing your chum in pantyhose, then in a 5 gal bucket with holes in it. It will last longer, and continue to bring in the bait fish. With this method, it would be trial and error. Go retrieve your bucket every so often to see if it still has chum in it, if not, add to it

3. james

james New Member

State:
    Blue Ridge texa
    i would try range cubes its easy and cheap. i would take a sack out once a week and spread it out in the area he is going to fish. useing range cubes you dont have to let the sour just cut the bag and dump them you can get them from just about any feed store.

4. strider

strider New Member

State:
    Bruceville-Eddy, Texas
    I just had the opportunity to bank fish with a group of guys that target buffalo. They threw out range cubes by the 50 lb bag. They also used a homemade dough bait that is made from (I'm guessing) range cubes. While we didn't score on any big cats that day (we did on the buffs though) they have been reporting some nice blue cat catches in the cold weather lately fishing the 'cubes. One more advantage of range cubes: they're dry, easy to transport, and won' t ruin your vehicle if they spill!

5. kspor

kspor New Member

State: