Christmas Present Reviews

Discussion in 'Sinker Making Institute' started by Jeremy Sheffey, Dec 25, 2009.

1. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    for Christmas i asked for a few sinker molds. I recieved a Hot Pot 2, 10 lbs of basspro lead, two ladles and 3 do-it molds (1/2oz-8oz flat bank). of course first thing i did after i could get free was try it all out. i am new to this, actually today was the first time i have tried it. however i think it went well.

i really like the HOT POT 2, except when pouring the bigger 6 oz/8oz cavities because after 2 pours you have to wait for the next batch of lead to melt down. however it was handy and easy to use. was really nice to keep the lead hot while pouring into the molds with the wind and chilly temps.

the bass pro shop lead was not that impressive however, and from the price i was told it costs ($21 for 5lbs or 10lbs i cant remember, still hi $ to me), i will not be buying more. it also melted down fast, but left a film on top of impurities and for the price it shouldn't be like that.

as for the do-it molds, they were everything i expected them to be. i used pam on the first batch i did, but found it unnecessary in the next few batches.

i also found out quickly how little water it takes to make lead expload. i had been warned by ken to be careful, and i was. however i had been dropping the fresh sinkers into a pale of water. then i would break off the nipples and remelt them. first on i though was dry, however it wasn't dry enough and i got a good little pop. didnt get burned, but it was enough to teach me.

i will be getting some more molds in the future, it is fun and easy to do. i suggest every serious fisherman to do the same. it saves a ton of money and is fairly easy. just takes caution.

2. plainsman

plainsman New Member Supporting Member

State:
    minnesota