chattahoochee flathead catfish

Discussion in 'GEORGIA RIVERS TALK' started by flatheadslayer, Oct 5, 2009.

1. flatheadslayer

flatheadslayer New Member

State:
    Thomaston, Geor
    hello im new here i was just wondering if theres anyone fishes the hooch around franklin,ga.i go a lot by myself just looking for someone who may want to hook up and go sometimes.ive been wanting to try around columbus,i have a daughter in college there but dont know anything about the river.dont know where the ramps are or any thing.or whats good fishing yellas,blues,or channels.iknow franklin good yellas all the way.:big_smile:

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    welcome to the BOC, this site is full of good people and great info.

I am no flathead expert, but people are sure catching them down here in Columbus. There are some real nice Blues to be caught also. Let some of the Chattahoochee HillJacks know when you are coming down and someone will square you away. Check us out at http://www.catfish1.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=557

3. brotherknothead

brotherknothead New Member

State:
    Ft Campbell, KY
    Welcome to the BOC Preston, like Shane siad there is alot of us on here that fish up and down the river here in Columbus and will help you out anytime you need it. Again hope to see you on the river.

4. redbone

redbone New Member

State:
    smiths sta
    Preston , welcome to the BOC. There are many willing people here ( including myself ) who will tell you all about the fishing in this area. To start with there are 3 lakes in the Chattahoochee River Basin that are with in 20 minutes drive of downtown Columbus. They are ...starting north to south.... Harding, Barletts Ferry ( aka. Goat Rock ), and Oliver. The river then goes over a set of 3 weir dams as it gets to the downtown Columbus area. The river then flows approx. 60 miles where it again is the head waters for another lake. Lake Eufaula.