Charging a trolling motor Battery

Discussion in 'Boating' started by Bigones, Jun 20, 2006.

1. Bigones

Bigones New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Howdy brothers, I have a question for ya. I have an onboard charger that will charge two batteries. The trouble is I changed trolling motors from a 12v to a 24v so I now have 3 batteries 2 for the trolling motor and one for the motor. If I run some wire from the the positive to the positive and negitive to the negitive on the trolling motor batteries will this charge both batteries or will I have to charge one of them seperately? I have the charger hooked to my cranking battery and one of the trolling. I was just thinking if I hooked them in a series that it would charge both. What do yall think?

2. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

I'm no expert but it sounds like you would be pulling to much on the charger. like thoses guys with the thumping radio's some them pull so much they had to install two, three and four extra altenators and batteries just to keep up with demand. I think I would just charge them one at a time and always strat with fully charged batteries.

3. Fastman

Fastman New Member

State:
    Arnold, Mo
    I have done quite a bit of reading on this subject and as I understand it, you cannot charge 3 batterys with a dual charger.
    Your trolling motor is 24V. You cannot charge them with a single 12V lead. If you wire them in series it will be a 12V system, but the trolling motor will only get half the juice. Also it would be a dead short.
    I would suggest getting another single onboard charger and putting it on your starting battery and use the existing dual for the trolling motor batteries. You want to make sure they are charged and maintained equally. If not it will cause premature failure. Better to take care of them now.
    Fastman

4. duxsrus

duxsrus New Member

State:
    SW Ohio